hobbytaya.blogg.se

Detroit free press half marathon 2016
Detroit free press half marathon 2016







detroit free press half marathon 2016

Downtown, Riverwalk and Belle Island sections were great. Weather this year was absolutely perfect mid 40's to start, never got too hot and a bit cloudy. Start area was exactly what you might hope for plenty of bathrooms, space to warm up and plenty of staff to help with questions. Pacer groups were terrific and on target. Ate dinner in Capital Square (?) at a place called La Lanterna - best pre-race meal I've ever had. I stayed right on Jefferson Ave looking into Canada and I could see the Expo center from my room. Downtown Detroit was better than what I anticipated. Communication was excellent from the day it was cancelled in 2020 and I elected to defer to 2021.Įxpo was perfect for me, in and out in about 10 minutes. I was happy to avoid the elevation changes! Sad I didn't get to experience the bridge and tunnel would have been cool. The race is very well organized and I highly recommend it for MI.ĭFP this year was exclusively in Detroit. The photos were plentiful and uploaded quickly. The course didn't venture into Canada this year, but was nice and flat. I appreciated the stand selling older race items for less. I actually went 2 days in a row since there was a lot to do. The race Expo was one of the best I've been to. I walked through the city and drove to Dearborn to the Ford plant tour and museum the day before to sightsee. People thought it was odd that I was going to run there as I'm from PA but it did not disappoint! I was able to walk to the start and expo from my downtown hotel. It was my first time in Detroit and I loved the city. Also, it would be cool to have the goodie bag and after party include local Detroit products (Germack Nuts, Better Made Chips, Atwater Beer, Faygo, etc). Still, it is flat enough (other than the bridge and tunnel, which are the highlights) that I was able to BQ.

detroit free press half marathon 2016

The only downside of these changes was that there were more corners to run around, which made tangent running more difficult to accomplish, so my watch read 26.46.

detroit free press half marathon 2016

A slightly modified course this year added some interesting neighborhoods and a well-maintained bike path, which resulted in better crowd support. I rate this one well above average and recommend it highly. Marathon number 39 on 29 different courses. Very Solid Marathon Overall (about: 2022) I have run this marathon, and I want to add my comments about it. Detroit Free Press Detroit International Marathon - Race Detailsĭetroit Free Press Detroit International Marathon & Maarathon Relay, Half Marathon, 5K









Detroit free press half marathon 2016